Wednesday, 17 October 2018 11:03 am, Nepal

PM Koirala expands Cabinet

मेचीकाली : 2014-02-25 19:06:46

KATHMANDU , FEB 25 - Prime Minister Sushil Koirala expanded his Cabinet by inducting 18 new ministers in his Cabinet on Tuesday.  Earlier, PM Koirala had only appointed Nepali Congress (NC) leader Ram Sharan Mahat in his Cabinet but was not allocated any portfolio.


The expansion of post-second Constituent Assembly elections Cabinet came two weeks after Koirala was sworn in as the new prime minister following an agreement on portfolio distribution with major coalition partner CPN-UML.


He administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers from Nepali Congress and CPN-UML amid a special function organised at the Presidents Office in Sheetal Niwas, Kathmandu.


PM Koirala administered the oath to Deputy Prime Minister duo Prakash Man Singh from NC and Bam Dev Gautam from CPN-UML.Other ministers from the two parties were also sworn in at the function attended by the president, vice president, leaders of political parties, dignitaries and other high-ranking government officials.Ram Sharan Mahat, who has been designated as the Finance Minister, was sworn in on February 11 along with PM Koirala.

Below is the name list of the ministers from NC and UML with their ministerial portfolio.


List of Nepali Congress ministers


Prakash Man Singh         Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Local Development


Ram Sharan Mahat         Minister of Finance


Mahesh Acharya            Forest Minister


Minendra Rijal                Information and Communications Minister


Narayan Khadka             Minister for Urban Development


Narahari Acharya           Minister for Law


Chitra Lekha Yadav       Education Minister


 NP Saud                          Minister of Irrigation


Bimelandra Nidhi           Minister of Physical Planning and Construction


List of CPN-UML ministers


Bam Dev Gautam             Deputy Prime Minister and Home Ministry


Mahendra Pandey            Minister for Foreign Affairs


Radha Gyawali                 Energy Ministry


Purushottam Poudel         Minister for Youth and Sports


Hari Parajuli                     Agriculture Minister


Lal Babu Pandit                Minister for General Administration


Karna Bahadur Thapa       Ministry for Commerce and Industries


Bhim Acharya                   Minister of Tourism


Khagraj Adhiakry             Minister of Health and Population


Dal Bahadur Rana             Minister for Land Reforms and Management


Earlier, the Cabinet expansion was delayed due to the contention between the NC and UML over the Home Ministery portfolio.


Ending the two-week deadlock over the expansion of Cabinet, the two parties—Nepali Congress and CPN-UML—on Monday had agreed to allocate 10 ministries each following Prime Minister Sushil Koirala s assurance to allocate Home Ministry portfolio to CPN-UML.

प्रतिक्रिया दिनुहोस्



नेपालीमा टाइप गर्नुहोस् । अंग्रेजीमा टाइप गर्न Ctrl+G थिच्नुहोस् ।

सुरक्षा संकेत:
verification image, type it in the box




धेरैले पढेको


भर्खरै प्राप्त प्रतिक्रियाहरु


मेचीकाली भिडियो

भुन्टी-निशान भट्टराई

थप भिडियोहरु